Home   |   About   |   Best Practices   |   Steps 1-5   |   Recognition   |   All Cities   |   Ordinances   |  City log-in   |   Contact           Stay Connected

Best Practice Advisors

To help focus your city's efforts on starting and completing a specific best practice action, one or two topic area experts from state government, the University of MN and non-profit organizations are listed for each GreenStep best practice. As needed, feel free to contact them, briefly describe your city and what stage you are at in planning to implement a best practice, and ask them:

  • Which action options they think best fit your city
  • Which implementation resources might be most useful
  • What funding mechanisms other similar cities have used to implement the best practice action
  • As assistance experts they can help you think through how to implement a best practice and, most importantly, refer you to other, more specialized people (from the public and private sector) who have much more time to help you. We imagine you might have one 20-minute phone call with an advisor, and perhaps one or two follow-up calls.

    Category BP No. Best practice Advisor

    Buildings and Lighting

    1 Efficient Existing Public Buildings Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency, for B3 & green building improvements: 651/757-2568, Laura.Millberg@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef

    Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams, for assessment & GESP & other financing of energy improvements: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, http://tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

    2 Efficient Existing Private Buildings Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency, for green building improvements: 651/757-2568, Laura.Millberg@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef

    Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams, for assessment and financing of energy improvements: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, http://tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

    3 New Green Buildings Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, laura.millberg@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef
    4 Efficient Outdoor Lighting and Signals Susan Zarling, Traffic Electrical Systems Engineer, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/234-7052, susan.zarling@state.mn.us
    5 Building Redevelopment Anne Ketz, Real Estate Coordinator, Preservation Alliance of Minnesota: 651-293-9047, aketz@mnpreservation.org, http://www.mnpreservation.org

    Land Use

    6 Comprehensive Plans Suzanne Rhees, AICP, Conservation Projects Coordinator, MN Board of Water and Soil Resources: 651/296-0768, suzanne.rhees@state.mn.us
    7 Efficient City Growth Carissa Schively Slotterback, Urban and Regional Planning Program of the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota: 612/625-0640, cschively@umn.edu, http://www.hhh.umn.edu/people/cschively/
    8 Mixed Uses Carissa Schively Slotterback, Urban and Regional Planning Program of the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota: 612/625-0640, cschively@umn.edu, http://www.hhh.umn.edu/people/cschively/
    9 Efficient Highway- and Auto-Oriented Development Frank Douma, State and Local Policy Program of the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota: 612/626-9946, douma002@umn.edu, http://www.hhh.umn.edu/people/fdouma/
    10 Design for Natural Resource Conservation Paul Radomski, Conservation Ecologist, MN Dept. of Natural Resources: 218/833-8643, paul.radomski@dnr.state.mn.us

    Transportation

    11 Living Streets David Larson, Landscape Architect, Office of Environmental Stewardship, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4637, david.larson@state.mn.us, http://www.dot.state.mn.us/planning/completestreets
    12 Mobility Options Amber Dallman, Bicycle/Pedestrian Section, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4189, amber.dallman@state.mn.us
    13 Efficient City Fleets Fran Crotty, Electric Vehicle State Program Administrator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2297, fran.crotty@state.mn.us
    14 Demand-Side Travel Planning David Van Hattum, Advocacy Director, Transit for Livable Communities: 651-789-1418, DaveVH@tlcminnesota.org, http://www.tlcminnesota.org/about/#ourteam

    Environmental Management

    15 Sustainable Purchasing Johanna Kertesz, Sustainable Purchasing Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2489, johanna.kertesz@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/epp
    16 Urban Forests Ken Holman, Community Forestry Coordinator, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651/259-5269, ken.holman@dnr.state.mn.us, http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/urban
    17 Stormwater Management Anne Gelbmann, Green Stormwater Infrastructure Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2384, anne.gelbmann@state.mn.us, https://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/enhancing-stormwater-management-minnesota

    Alicia Uzarek, Friends of the Mississippi River: 651/222-2193, x29, info@bluestarmn.org, http://www.fmr.org/about/staff/alicia_uzarek

    18 Parks and Trails Jenna Fletcher, Program Director, Trust for Public Land: 651-999-5306, Jenna.Fletcher@tpl.org, https://www.tpl.org/our-work/minnesota
    19 Surface Water Quality Daniel Petrik, Land Use Specialist, MN Dept. of Natural Resources: 651/259-5697, Daniel.Petrik@state.mn.us
    20 Efficient Water and Wastewater Systems Karl DeWahl, Senior Engineer, Minnesota Technical Assistance Program: 612/624-4645, dewah001@umn.edu, http://mntap.umn.edu/us/staff.htm
    21 Septic Systems Staff from University Extension's Onsite Sewage Treatment Program: 800/322-8642, septic@umn.edu, http://septic.umn.edu/wastewater-issues
    22 Solid Waste Reduction Tim Farnan, Waste Prevention Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2348, timothy.farnan@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/ktqh87d
    23 Local Air Quality Lisa Herschberger, Analysis & Outcomes Division, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2432, Lisa.Herschberger@state.mn.us

    Economic and Community Development

    24 Benchmarks & Community Engagement Philipp Muessig, GreenStep Cities Program Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2594, philipp.muessig@state.mn.us

    Sean Gosiewski, Alliance for Sustainability, for work with citizen & student groups, city commissions & faith organizations: 612/331-1099, sean@AforS.org, http://www.AforS.org

    25 Green Business Development Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap
    26 Renewable Energy Lissa Pawlisch, Statewide Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/624-2293, pawl0048@umn.edu, http://www.cleanenergyresourceteams.org
    27 Local Food Paul Hugunin, Minnesota Grown, MN Department of Agriculture, for an overview of this best practice, for urban agriculture and for farmers' markets: 651/201-6510, paul.hugunin@state.mn.us, http://www.minnesotagrown.com

    Ari Baum-Hommes, Communications & Education Coordinator, Gardening Matters, for community gardens: 612/821-2358, ari@gardeningmatters.org, http://www.gardeningmatters.org

    28 Business Synergies Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap
    29 Climate Adaptation and Community Resilience Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, Laura.Millberg@state.mn.us