Home   |   About   |   Best Practices   |   Steps 1-5   |   Recognition   |   All Cities   |   Ordinances   |  City log-in   |   Contact           Stay Connected

Best Practice Advisors

To help focus your city's efforts on starting and completing a specific best practice action, one or two topic area experts from state government, the University of MN and non-profit organizations are listed for each GreenStep best practice. As needed, feel free to contact them, briefly describe your city and what stage you are at in planning to implement a best practice, and ask them:

  • Which action options they think best fit your city
  • Which implementation resources might be most useful
  • What funding mechanisms other similar cities have used to implement the best practice action
  • As assistance experts they can help you think through how to implement a best practice and, most importantly, refer you to other, more specialized people (from the public and private sector) who have much more time to help you. We imagine you might have one 20-minute phone call with an advisor, and perhaps one or two follow-up calls.

    Category BP No. Best practice Advisor

    Buildings and Lighting

    1 Efficient Existing Public Buildings Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, http://tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS
    2 Efficient Existing Private Buildings Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, http://tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS
    3 New Green Buildings Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, laura.millberg@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef
    4 Efficient Outdoor Lighting and Signals Susan Zarling, Traffic Electrical Systems Engineer, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/234-7052, susan.zarling@state.mn.us
    5 Building Redevelopment Erin Hanafin Berg, Director of Outreach & Policy, Preservation Alliance of Minnesota: 651-293-9047, ehberg@mnpreservation.org, http://www.mnpreservation.org

    Land Use

    6 Comprehensive, Climate and Energy Plans Suzanne Rhees, AICP, Conservation Projects Coordinator, MN Board of Water and Soil Resources: 651/296-0768, suzanne.rhees@state.mn.us
    7 Resilient City Growth Brian Ross, Senior Communities Program Director, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, https://www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/
    8 Mixed Uses Brian Ross, Senior Communities Program Director, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, https://www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/
    9 Efficient Highway- and Auto-Oriented Development Frank Douma, State and Local Policy Program of the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota: 612/626-9946, douma002@umn.edu, http://www.hhh.umn.edu/people/fdouma/
    10 Design for Natural Resource Conservation Vanessa Perry, Land Protection Manager, Minnesota Land Trust: 651/917-6296, vperry@mnland.org, http://www.mnland.org/vanessa-perry

    Transportation

    11 Living Streets David Larson, Landscape Architect, Office of Environmental Stewardship, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4637, david.larson@state.mn.us, http://www.dot.state.mn.us/planning/completestreets
    12 Mobility Options Amber Dallman, Bicycle/Pedestrian Section, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4189, amber.dallman@state.mn.us
    13 Efficient City Fleets Rebecca Place, Electric Vehicle Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757-2807, rebecca.place@state.mn.us
    14 Demand-Side Travel Planning Jessica Treat, Executive Director, Move Minnesota: 651-789-1405, JessicaT@movemn.org, http://www.movemn.org

    Environmental Management

    15 Sustainable Purchasing Melissa Peck, Sustainable Purchasing Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2343, melissa.peck@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/epp
    16 Urban Forests and Soils Valerie McClannahan, Community Forestry Coordinator, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651-259-5283, valerie.mcclannahan@state.mn.us, http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/urban
    17 Stormwater Management Roberta Getman, Municipal Stormwater Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 507/206-2629, roberta.getman@state.mn.us, https://www.pca.state.mn.us/water/enhancing-stormwater-management-minnesota
    18 Parks and Trails Jenna Fletcher, Program Director, Trust for Public Land: 651-999-5306, Jenna.Fletcher@tpl.org, https://www.tpl.org/our-work/minnesota
    19 Surface Water Daniel Petrik, Land Use Specialist, MN Dept. of Natural Resources: 651/259-5697, Daniel.Petrik@state.mn.us
    20 Efficient Water and Wastewater Systems Brent Vizanko, Assoc. Engineer, Minnesota Technical Assistance Program: 612/624-4653, bvizan@umn.edu, http://mntap.umn.edu/us/staff.htm
    21 Septic Systems Sara Heger, University of Minnesota's Onsite Sewage Treatment Program: 800/322-8642, sheger@umn.edu, https://septic.umn.edu/
    22 Sustainable Consumption and Waste Tim Farnan, Waste Prevention Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2348, timothy.farnan@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/ktqh87d
    23 Local Air Quality Mary Jean Fenske, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2354, maryjean.fenske@state.mn.us

    Resilient Economic & Community Development

    24 Benchmarks and Community Engagement Philipp Muessig, GreenStep Cities Program Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2594, philipp.muessig@state.mn.us

    Sean Gosiewski, Alliance for Sustainability, for work with citizen & student groups and faith organizations: 612/331-1099, sean@AforS.org, http://www.AforS.org

    25 Green Business Development Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap
    26 Renewable Energy Lissa Pawlisch, Statewide Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/624-2293, pawl0048@umn.edu, http://www.cleanenergyresourceteams.org
    27 Local Food Karen Lanthier, Minnesota Grown, MN Department of Agriculture: 651/201-6140, karen.lanthier@state.mn.us, http://www.minnesotagrown.com
    28 Business Synergies and EcoDistricts Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, http://www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap
    29 Climate Adaptation and Community Resilience Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, Laura.Millberg@state.mn.us, https://www.pca.state.mn.us/quick-links/community-resilience