Best Practice Advisors

Buildings and Lighting Buildings and Lighting
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
1 Efficient Existing Public Buildings Best Practice Advisor Photo

Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

2 Efficient Existing Private Buildings Best Practice Advisor Photo

Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

3 New Green Buildings Laura Millberg

Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, laura.millberg@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef

4 Efficient Outdoor Lighting and Signals Best Practice Advisor Photo

Susan Zarling, Traffic Electrical Systems Engineer, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/234-7052, susan.zarling@state.mn.us

5 Building Redevelopment BP_5_photo_Erin

Erin Hanafin Berg, Policy Director, Rethos: 651-293-9047, erin@rethos.org, www.rethos.org

Land Use Land Use
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
6 Comprehensive, Climate and Energy Plans Best Practice Advisor Photo

Suzanne Rhees, AICP, Conservation Projects Coordinator, MN Board of Water and Soil Resources: 651/296-0768, suzanne.rhees@state.mn.us

7 Resilient City Growth Best Practice Advisor Photo

Brian Ross, Senior Communities Program Director, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/

8 Mixed Uses Best Practice Advisor Photo

Brian Ross, Senior Communities Program Director, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/

9 Efficient Highway- and Auto-Oriented Development Best Practice Advisor Photo

Frank Douma, State and Local Policy Program of the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota: 612/626-9946, douma002@umn.edu, www.hhh.umn.edu/people/fdouma/

10 Design for Natural Resource Conservation Best Practice Advisor Photo

Vanessa Perry, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651/259-5721, Vanessa.Perry@state.mn.us

Transportation Transportation
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
11 Living Streets

Carol Zoff, Senior Landscape Architect, Office of Environmental Planning and Design, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4705, carol.zoff@state.mn.us, www.dot.state.mn.us/planning/completestreets

12 Mobility Options Best Practice Advisor Photo

Amber Dallman, Bicycle/Pedestrian Section, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4189, amber.dallman@state.mn.us

www.dot.state.mn.us/bike/contacts.html

13 Efficient City Fleets BP 13 Advisor picture

Mehjabeen Rahman, Fleets Advisor, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757-2191, Mehjabeen.Rahman@state.mn.us

14 Demand-Side Travel Planning Best Practice 14 advisor

Barb Thoman, RETAP Transportation Consultant : 651-500-5958, Barb.thoman@walkbiketransit.com, https://tinyurl.com/RETAP-MnDOT

Environmental Management Environmental Management
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
15 Sustainable Purchasing Best Practice Advisor Photo

Melissa Peck, Sustainable Purchasing Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2343, melissa.peck@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/epp

16 Community Forests and Soils Best Practice Advisor Photo

Valerie McClannahan, Community Forestry Coordinator, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651-259-5283, valerie.mcclannahan@state.mn.us, www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/urban

17 Stormwater Management Best Practice Advisor Photo

Roberta Getman, Municipal Stormwater Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 507/206-2629, roberta.getman@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/water/enhancing-stormwater-management-minnesota

18 Parks and Trails Best Practice Advisor Photo

Jenna Fletcher, Program Director, Trust for Public Land: 651-999-5306, Jenna.Fletcher@tpl.org, www.tpl.org/our-work/minnesota

19 Surface Water Best Practice Advisor Photo

Daniel Petrik, Land Use Specialist, MN Dept. of Natural Resources: 651/259-5697, Daniel.Petrik@state.mn.us

20 Efficient Water and Wastewater Systems Best Practice Advisor Photo

Brent Vizanko, Assoc. Engineer, Minnesota Technical Assistance Program: 612/624-4653, bvizan@umn.edu, http://www.mntap.umn.edu/us/staff/

21 Septic Systems Best Practice Advisor Photo

Nick Haig, Onsite Sewage Treatment Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757/2536, nick.haig@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/water/subsurface-sewage-treatment-systems

22 Sustainable Consumption and Waste Best Practice Advisor Photo

Tim Farnan, Waste Prevention Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2348, timothy.farnan@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/ktqh87d

23 Local Air Quality Best Practice Advisor Photo

Megan Kuhl-Stennes, Neighborhood Air Pollution Lead, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2455, Megan.KuhlStennes@state.mn.us

Resilient Economic & Community Development Resilient Economic and Community Development
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
24 Benchmarks and Community Engagement Best Practice Advisor Photo

Philipp Muessig, GreenStep Cities Program Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2594, philipp.muessig@state.mn.us

Sean Gosiewski, Alliance for Sustainability, for work with citizen & student groups and faith organizations: 612/331-1099, sean@AforS.org, www.AforS.org

25 Green Business Development Best Practice Advisor Photo

Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap

26 Renewable Energy Lissa Pawlisch

Lissa Pawlisch, Statewide Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/624-2293, pawl0048@umn.edu, www.cleanenergyresourceteams.org

27 Local Food Best Practice Advisor Photo

Karen Lanthier, Minnesota Grown, MN Department of Agriculture: 651/201-6140, karen.lanthier@state.mn.us, www.minnesotagrown.com

28 Business Synergies and EcoDistricts Best Practice Advisor Photo

Angie Bourdaghs, Small Business Environmental Assistance Program, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2176, angela.bourdaghs@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap

29 Climate Adaptation and Community Resilience Laura Millberg

Laura Millberg, MBA, LEED AP BD+C, Sustainable Development and Climate Resilience Principal Planner, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, Laura.Millberg@state.mn.us, https://www.pca.state.mn.us/air/adapting-changing-climate