Best Practice Advisors

Buildings and Lighting Buildings and Lighting
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
1 Efficient Existing Public Buildings Best Practice Advisor Photo

Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

2 Efficient Existing Private Buildings Best Practice Advisor Photo

Peter Lindstrom, Local Government Outreach Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/625-9634, plindstr@umn.edu, tinyurl.com/PeterCERTS

3 New Green Buildings Melissa Wenzel light skin, short dark brown hair, brown eyes, large smile. Wearing a blue shirt with bicycle images printed and a purple sweater.

Melissa Wenzel, Built Environment Sustainability Administrator, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, 651/757-2251, melissa.wenzel@state.mn.uswww.pca.state.mn.us/yhiz6ef

4 Efficient Outdoor Lighting and Signals Sue Zarling BP 4

Susan Zarling, State Signal and Lighting Engineer, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/234-7052, susan.zarling@state.mn.us

5 Building Redevelopment BP_5_photo_Erin

Erin Hanafin Berg, Policy Director, Rethos: 651-293-9047, erin@rethos.org, www.rethos.org

Land Use Land Use
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
6 Comprehensive, Climate and Energy Plans Best Practice Advisor Photo

Suzanne Rhees, AICP, Special Projects Coordinator, MN Board of Water and Soil Resources: 651/875-1345, suzanne.rhees@state.mn.us

7 Resilient City Growth Best Practice Advisor Photo

Brian Ross, Vice President - Renewable Energy, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/

8 Mixed Uses Best Practice Advisor Photo

Brian Ross, Vice President - Renewable Energy, Great Plains Institute: 612/767-7296, bross@gpisd.net, www.betterenergy.org/who-we-are/staff-and-consultants/

9 Efficient Highway- and Auto-Oriented Development Best Practice Advisor Photo

Frank Douma, Director of State & Local Policy and Outreach of the Institute for Urban and Regional Infrastructure Finance, University of Minnesota: 612/626-9946, douma002@umn.edu, www.hhh.umn.edu/people/fdouma/

10 Design for Natural Resource Conservation Best Practice Advisor Photo

Vanessa Perry, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651/259-5721, Vanessa.Perry@state.mn.us

Transportation Transportation
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
11 Living & Complete Streets Nissa Tupper with light skin, medium blond hair, in a dark floral blouse, large smile, in front of a tree

Nissa Tupper, Transportation and Public Health Planner, Sustainability and Public Health Division, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4807, Nissa.Tupper@state.mn.us, www.dot.state.mn.us/planning/completestreets

12 Mobility Options Best Practice Advisor Photo

Amber Dallman, Bicycle/Pedestrian Section, MN Dept. of Transportation: 651/366-4189, amber.dallman@state.mn.us

www.dot.state.mn.us/bike/contacts.html

13 Efficient City Fleets BP 13 Advisor picture

Mehjabeen Rahman, Fleets Advisor, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757-2191, Mehjabeen.Rahman@state.mn.us

14 Demand-Side Travel Planning Best Practice 14 advisor

Barb Thoman, RETAP Transportation Consultant : 651-500-5958, Barb.thoman@walkbiketransit.com, https://tinyurl.com/RETAP-MnDOT

Environmental Management Environmental Management
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
15 Sustainable Purchasing Alison Cameron with long dark hair, green eyes, light skin; wearing a gray sweater and earrings; in front of a blue wall.

Alison Cameron, Sustainable Purchasing Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757-2195, alison.cameron@state.mn.uswww.pca.state.mn.us/epp

16 Community Forests and Soils Best Practice Advisor Photo

Valerie McClannahan, Community Forestry Coordinator, MN Department of Natural Resources: 651-259-5283, valerie.mcclannahan@state.mn.us, www.dnr.state.mn.us/forestry/urban

17 Stormwater Management Best Practice Advisor Photo

Roberta Getman, Municipal Stormwater Specialist, MN Pollution Control Agency: 507/206-2629, roberta.getman@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/water/enhancing-stormwater-management-minnesota

18 Parks and Trails BP18 Advisor Photo: man with light skin, dark hair and beard, in a blue patterned shirt.

Eric Weiss, Program Director, Community Powered Parks - Trust for Public Land: 651-999-5306, eric.weiss@tpl.org, www.tpl.org/our-work/minnesota

19 Surface Water Best Practice Advisor Photo

Daniel Petrik, Land Use Specialist, MN Dept. of Natural Resources: 651/259-5697, Daniel.Petrik@state.mn.us

20 Efficient Water and Wastewater Systems Gabrielle Martin headshot in a blue shirt, dark rimmed glasses, shaved head, smiling

Gabrielle Martin, Assoc. Engineer, Minnesota Technical Assistance Program: 980.329.2647, gamartin@umn.eduhttp://www.mntap.umn.edu/us/staff/gm/

 

21 Septic Systems Brandon Montgomery headshot in gray dress shirt with dark colored tie, short hair, no facial hair

Brandon Montgomery, SSTS Program Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651-757-2230, brandon.montgomery@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/ssts

22 Sustainable Consumption and Waste Melissa Wenzel light skin, short dark brown hair, brown eyes, large smile. Wearing a blue shirt with bicycle images printed and a purple sweater.

Melissa Wenzel, Built Environment Sustainability Administrator, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, 651/757-2251, melissa.wenzel@state.mn.uswww.pca.state.mn.us/ktqh87d

23 Local Air Quality Best Practice Advisor Photo

Megan Kuhl-Stennes, Neighborhood Air Pollution Lead, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2455, Megan.KuhlStennes@state.mn.us

Resilient Economic & Community Development Resilient Economic and Community Development
BP No. Title Advisor Picture Advisor
24 Benchmarks and Community Engagement

Sean Gosiewski, Resilient Cities & Communities: 612/250-0389, sean@rccmn.co; www.rccmn.co

25 Green Business Development Melissa Wenzel light skin, short dark brown hair, brown eyes, large smile. Wearing a blue shirt with bicycle images printed and a purple sweater.

Melissa Wenzel, Built Environment Sustainability Administrator, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, 651/757-2251, melissa.wenzel@state.mn.us, www.pca.state.mn.us/sbeap

26 Renewable Energy Lissa Pawlisch

Lissa Pawlisch, Statewide Coordinator, Clean Energy Resource Teams: 612/624-2293, pawl0048@umn.edu, www.cleanenergyresourceteams.org

27 Local Food Mike Zastoupil male with light skin, medium length dark hair, facial hair, and a blue dress shirt.

Mike Zastoupil, Agricultural and Food Systems Planner, MN Department of Agriculture: 651/201-6369, michael.zastoupil@state.mn.us, https://www.mda.state.mn.us/business-dev-loans-grants/local-regional-markets 

28 Business Synergies and EcoDistricts Melissa Wenzel light skin, short dark brown hair, brown eyes, large smile. Wearing a blue shirt with bicycle images printed and a purple sweater.

Melissa Wenzel, Built Environment Sustainability Administrator, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, 651/757-2251, melissa.wenzel@state.mn.ushttps://www.pca.state.mn.us/smallbizhelp

29 Climate Adaptation and Community Resilience Laura Millberg Caucasian with brown/gray shoulder-length hair and bangs to eyebrows. Brown eyes and dark rimmed glasses.

Laura Millberg, Climate Change Resilience Coordinator, MN Pollution Control Agency: 651/757-2568, laura.millberg@state.mn.us, https://www.pca.state.mn.us/air/adapting-changing-climate